strawberry rhubarb ginger jam

The Life of Liesel

2015-07-12 14.09.44-1Yesterday I showed up in Santry Community Garden all ready to put a good bit of work in. I haven’t been there for this season yet so wasn’t quite expecting the job I was asked to do – harvest the strawberries. Not a bad job!! After a couple of hours lifting leaves and removing those red morsels of goodness I was amazed to realise that this was not the end of the crop! They seemed to be ripening behind me. We shared them at the end of the day and I grabbed a few stalks of rhubarb as well. Soon I was off home to make some jam.

I know some people like their strawberries alone in a jam but I found that adding a bit of rhubarb and ginger to the mix makes the strawberries have this je ne sais quoi quality about them. If you are up to…

View original post 397 more words

Leave a Reply

